Faculty and Staff

Program Head

Botta, Mónica

Mónica Botta
Associate Professor of Spanish and Program Head, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
Tucker Hall, Room 313
540.458.8297
bottam@wlu.edu

Latin American Theater, emphasis on the transmission of history and memory in the theater of the Southern Cone. Human rights and post-dictatorial literatures and, Staging in the Academe.

Core Faculty

Barnett, Jeff

Jeff Barnett
S. Blount Mason Jr. Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 304
540.458.8950
barnettj@wlu.edu

Latin American Narrative and Cultural Studies, with regional emphasis on Mexican, Central American, and Pan-Caribbean cultures.

León, Zoila Ponce de

Zoila Ponce de Leon
Assistant Professor of Politics
Huntley 210
540.458.8575
zponcedeleon@wlu.edu

Lepage, Andrea

Andrea Lepage
Professor of Art History
Wilson 3014
540.458.8305
lepagea@wlu.edu

Mayock, Ellen

Ellen Mayock
Ernest Williams II Professor of Spanish
On Sabbatical Leave Fall term 2021
Tucker Hall, Room 305
540.458.8816
mayocke@wlu.edu

The Novel in Spain and Latin America; Literary Naturalism: Women Writers of Spain, Latin America, and the U.S.; Feminist Theory; Immigrant Populations in the U.S.

Michelson, Seth R.

Seth Michelson
Associate Professor of Spanish
On Sabbatical Fall and Winter term 2021/2022
Tucker Hall, Room 322
540.458.8818
michelsons@wlu.edu

Latin American Poetry, Aesthetics, Translation Theory, Feminist Poetics, State Violence, Colonialism, Neoliberalism

Affiliate Faculty

Baluarte, David

David Baluarte
Associate Clinical Professor of Law and Director, Immigrant Rights Clinic
248 Lewis Hall
baluarted@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Professor of Sociology and Department Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology
Newcomb Hall 104
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Kahn, Jim

Jim Kahn
John F. Hendon Professor of Economics and Professor of Environmental Studies
Holekamp 206
540.458.8036
kahnj@wlu.edu

US-Brazil Exchange Program

Kamara, Mohamed

Mohamed Kamara
Professor of French
Tucker Hall, Room 306
540.458.8475
kamaram@wlu.edu

Perez, Marcos

Marcos Perez
Assistant Professor of Sociology
225 Newcomb Hall
540-458-8793
mperez@wlu.edu

Pinto-Bailey, A. Cristina

A. Cristina Pinto-Bailey
Visiting Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
Tucker Hall, Room 320
540.458.8055
pinto-baileyac@wlu.edu

Staff

Richardson, Shirley

Shirley Richardson
Administrative Assistant II
Tucker Hall, Room 308
540.458.8821
srichard@wlu.edu