Order of the Coif Academic Honors in Law, Since 1950

The English Order of the Coif was the most ancient and one of the most honored institutions of the common law. It was an association of lawyers who for centuries had the sole right to appear as barristers in the Court of Common Pleas. The Order takes its name from the word used to designate the cap all the members of the Order were compelled to wear. This cap or coif was originally of white lawn or silk, forming a close-fitting hood. Later when wigs came into fashion, the coif was changed to a circular piece of white lawn fastened to the top of the wig. The real decline in the power and influence of the Order came through the appointment of King's counsel but despite efforts to change it, the Order remained the sole body of accepted practitioners at the Common Pleas Bar down to the Judicature Act.

The American Order of the Coif is the outgrowth of an earlier society known as Theta Kappa Nu, founded in 1902 for the purpose of promoting scholarship among American law students. In 1912 the society was reorganized as the Order of the Coif "to foster a spirit of careful study and to mark in a fitting manner those who have attained a high grade of scholarship." Students in the top 10% of their graduating class are eligible for membership. Local chapters also recognize honorary members. (Last five years updated, June 17, 2020)

New Members, Class of 2021

Jack James Andrade
Lee S. Brett
Alexandra Preston Clark
Emily Kuller Dalessio
Lucy Geneva Dempsey
Mary Kathryn Field
Virginia Elizabeth Gordon
Laura Nicole Hancock
Corey J. Hauser
Rebecca Taylor Mitchell
Rami Abdallah Elias Rashmawi
Patrick L. Wright

New Members, Class of 2020

Hannah Olivia Cloh
Caroline Louise Crosbie
Bonnie Susan Gill
Henry Preston Glasscock
Kyle Brandon Hess
Natalia Nacheff Homchick
William Chadwick Howard
Courtney T. Iverson
Ryan Edward Johnson
Andrew Robert Klimek
Melissa Ann Lagoumis
Carrie Lee Macon
Manning T. Russell Jr.
Lee A. Sands
Austin William Scieszinski

New Members, Class of 2019

Paige-Elizabeth Edith Avery
Cole Thomas Bollman
Cody Matthew Bowen
Zachary Tate Crawford-Pechukas
Joseph Gregory DuChane
Jacqueline Marie Fitch
Sally Elise Harper
Kiersten Elizabeth Holms
Ian Joseph McElhaney
Pierce Edward Rigney
Malory Elizabeth Thelen

New Members, Class of 2018

Peter S. Askin
Dioscoro Andres Blanco
Gregory Terrance Funk
John Sterling Houser
Christopher Alan Hurley
Nicholas Alexander Ramos
Alix Myer Sirota
Katheryn Paige Thomas
Peter Treutlen Thomas
Martha Goodwin Vázquez
Spencer Thomas Wiles

New Members, Class of 2017

Anne M. Anderson
Lucas Michael Fleissner Barta
Max Carter Gottlieb
Ray Edwin Hingson II
Alexandra Lian Klein
Kevin Philip Rickert
James E. Simon
Ann Cox Tripp
Elizabeth Randle Williams
Jessica Ann Winn

Honorary Members

David G. Weaver '81L (2016)
John W. Vardaman '62 (2014)
Henry L. Woodward (2013)
Robert C. Wood III '62 (2012)
Richard H. Middleton '73, '76L (2011)
Linda A. Klein '83L (2010)
Jessine A. Monaghan ‘79L (2009)
G. Michael Pace Jr. '84L (2008)
W. Donald Bain Jr. '49L (2007)
John Wolf '69, '72L (2006)
Lizanne Thomas '82L (2005)
Sarah K. Wiant '78L (2004)
John D. Klinedinst '71, '78L (2003)
Gregory W. Wiercioch '92L (2002)
Robert E. Stroud '56, '59L (2001)
Frederick P. Stamp Jr. '56 (2000)
H. F. (Gerry) Lenfest '53 (1999)
Robert E. Glenn '51, '53L (1998)
Carroll L. Wainwright Jr. (1997)
Linwood Holton '44 (1996)
William Ray Price Jr. '78L (1995)
Pamela J. White '77L (1994)
Robert J. Grey Jr. '76L (1993)
Isadore M. Scott '37L (1992)
Thomas Hal Clarke Jr. '73, '76L (1990)
Thomas W. Mapp (1989)
Alexander M. Harman Jr. '44L (1988)
Johnny E. Morrison '74, '77L (1987)
Raymond W. Haman '52L (1986)
Sol Wachtler '51, '52L (1985)
Roscoe B. Stephenson Jr. '43, '47L (1984)
Charles F. Clarke '38 (1982)
Manuel M. Weinberg '31L (1981)
John W. Drye Jr. '20L (1978)
Robert M. Campbell (1977)
H. Emory Widener Jr. '53L (1976)
Thornton G. Berry Jr. '34L (1975)
William W. Sweeney (1974)
Richard Hanes (1973)
Fred M. Vinson Jr. '48 '51L (1972)
Paul A. Holstein '32L (1971)
John DeW. Carter (1970)
Oswald B. McEwan '40L (1969)
Ted Dalton (1968)
Walter E. Hoffman '31L (1967)
Wilbur C. Hall '15L (1964)
Kermit E. Hundley '53L (1963)
William Oliver Roberts Jr. '58L (1962)
E. Barrett Prettyman (1961)
Rosser L. Malone Jr. '32L (1960)
John W. Eggleston '06 '07M '10L (1959)
John J. McCloy (1958)
H. Graham Morison '30 '32L (1957)
William T. Gossett (1956)
Edward S. Graves '30 (1955)
James R. Caskie '06 '09L (1954)
John W. Davis '92 '95L (1953)
John L. O'Brian (1952)
Herbert F. Fitzpatrick '92 '93L (1951)