Our People

The CBL Office

Sascha Goluboff

Faculty Director of CBL & Professor of Cultural Anthropology

Alessandra Del Conte Dickovick

Associate Director of CBL

Bethany Ozorak

Assistant Director of CBL

Judy Repair

Administrative Assistant


Our Liaison

Jayne Reino

CBL Liaison to ESOL and Visiting Professor of Spanish


The CBL Collaborative: 2022-2023 Members

Michael Berlin, Visiting Assistant Professor of English and Director of the Writing Program

Madhumita Chakraborty, Postdoctoral Fellow in Geology

Holly Shablack, Assistant Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science

Angela Sun, Assistant Professor of Philosophy

Steven Woodruff, Visiting Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics and Engineering

Learn more about The Collaborative. 

CBL Senior Fellow

Stephanie Sandberg, Assistant Professor of Theater

CBL Course Designation and Course (re)Design Grant Committee

Marisa Charlie, Associate Director of the Shepherd Program

BreAnne Rogers, Prevention Services Program Manager, Rockbridge Area Community Services

Paul Youngman, Associate Provost

CBL Course Grant Recipients

These faculty and community partners received a grant from the CBL Office to design or redesign an existing course to meet CBL criteria.

Dayo Abah & Project Horizon, JOUR 273: Principles of Public relation  

Holly Pickett & Heritage Hall, WRIT 100: Introduction to Writing  

Nandini Bhalla & Rockbridge Area Conservation Council, JOUR 227: Public Relations Writing 

Marisa Charley & TBA, POV 103: A Community-Based Introduction to Poverty Studies 

Leah Naomi Green & Boxerwood Nature Center,  ENGL 293G: Nature as Self: Environmental Literature in the Anthropocene


Faculty Who Teach CBL-Related Courses

Accounting: Jack Bovay

Biology: Sarah Blythe

Business: Stephen Lind, Lloyd Tanlu, and Jeff Schatten

Economics: Art Goldsmith

Education: Eric Moffa and Haley Sigler

English: Leah Naomi Green and Holly Pickett

Engineering: Jon Erickson and Joel Kuenher

Environmental Studies: Kim Hodge

Film: Stephanie Sandberg

Geology: Chris Connors

Journalism: Dayo Abah

Latin: Rebecca Benefiel

Law: Allison Weiss

Politics: Rebecca Harris

Poverty Studies: Marisa Charley and Howard Pickett

Sociology and Anthropology: Sascha Goluboff and Krzysztof Jasiewicz

Spanish: Ellen Mayock


Meet the faculty and community partners who laid the foundation for CBL at W&L

These faculty and community partners worked alongside the Office of Community-Based Learning to develop the standards of CBL at the University, including common definitions, student learning outcomes, and course criteria.


Marisa Charley, Associate Director of the Shepherd Program, Bonner Program Director, Instructor or Poverty Studies

Jon Erickson, Associate Professor of Physics and EngineeringRebecca Harris, Professor of Politics

Ellen Mayock, Ernest Williams II Professor of Spanish

Karla Murdock, Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science

Howard Pickett, Associate Professor of Ethics and Poverty Studies, and Director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability, and Adjunct Professor of Law

Community Partners

Rockbridge County Public Schools (Martha Gilchrist)

Rockbridge Area Community Services (Juliann Smith)

YMCA (Bobbie Wagner)

Virginia Cooperative Extension (Rebecca Wilder)