Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
Payne 308
540.458.8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu

Faculty

Adams, Edward

Edward Adams
Professor of English
Payne 110
540.458.8764
adamse@wlu.edu

Chowdhury, Lubabah

Lubabah Chowdhury
Assistant Professor of English
Washington Hall 111
540.458.8755
lchowdhury@wlu.edu

Gavaler, Chris

Chris Gavaler
Associate Professor of English
Payne 305
540.458.8279
gavalerc@wlu.edu

Gertz, Genelle

Genelle Gertz
Associate Dean of Strategic Initiatives and Thomas H. Broadus, Jr. Professor of English
Payne 108
540.458.8763
gertzg@wlu.edu

K. Avvirin Gray
Assistant Professor of English
Washington Hall 116
540.458.3877
kagray@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Associate Professor of English
Payne Hall 214
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

Millan, Diego

Diego Millan
Assistant Professor of English
Washington 110
540.458.8759
dmillan@wlu.edu

Pickett, Holly

Holly Pickett
Associate Professor of English
Payne 124
540.458.8078
picketth@wlu.edu

Smout, Kary

Kary Smout
Associate Professor of English
On sabbatical Winter Term 2023
Washington 112
540.458.8979
smoutk@wlu.edu

Staples, Beth A.

Beth A. Staples
Assistant Professor of English and Editor, Shenandoah
Early Fielding G09, Shenandoah; Payne Hall 304, English Department
Shenandoah: 540.458.8908; English: 540.458.8761
bstaples@wlu.edu

Walle, Taylor

Taylor Walle
Associate Professor of English
Washington Hall 108
540.458.8362
wallet@wlu.edu

Visiting Faculty

Berlin, Michael

Michael Berlin
Director of the Writing Program and Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne Hall 202
540.458.8757
mberlin@wlu.edu

Brodie, Laura Fairchild

Laura Fairchild Brodie
Visiting Associate Professor of English
Payne 203
540.458.5896
brodiel@wlu.edu

Fuentes, Freddy

Freddy Fuentes
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne 309
540.458.4990
fuentesf@wlu.edu

Green, Leah

Leah Naomi Green
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne Hall 213
(540) 458-4821
greenl@wlu.edu

Harrington, Jane

Jane Harrington
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne 302
703.915.9589 (text or call)
harringtonj@wlu.edu

Oliver, Bill

Bill Oliver
Writing Center Coordinator, Williams School Communications Center Director, and Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Leyburn 138
540.458.8278
oliverb@wlu.edu

Womer, Brenna

Brenna Womer
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne Hall 111
540.458.8924
bwomer@wlu.edu

Staff

Corman, Charity

Charity Corman
Administrative Assistant II
Payne 102
540.458.8756
ccorman@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Craun, Edwin

Edwin Craun
Professor of English Emeritus
craune@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
Thomas H. Broadus, Jr. Professor of English Emeritus
mirandad@wlu.edu

Warren, Jim

Jim Warren
Professor of English Emeritus
warrenj@wlu.edu