Faculty and Staff Writing 100

Program Director

Ruiz, Florinda

Florinda Ruiz
Director of the Writing Program and Visiting Associate Professor of Writing
Payne Hall 202
540-458-8757
ruizf@wlu.edu

Faculty

Adams, Edward

Edward Adams
Professor of English
Payne 110
540.458.8764
adamse@wlu.edu

Brodie, Laura Fairchild

Laura Fairchild Brodie
Visiting Associate Professor of English
Payne 203
540.458.5896
brodiel@wlu.edu

Dobin, Hank

Hank Dobin
Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Newcomb Hall 305
hdobin@wlu.edu

Gavaler, Chris

Chris Gavaler
Associate Professor of English
Payne 305
540.458.8279
gavalerc@wlu.edu

Gertz, Genelle

Genelle Gertz
Professor of English
On Sabbatical 2020-2021
Payne 108
540.458.8763
gertzg@wlu.edu

Goluboff, Sascha L.

Sascha L. Goluboff
Professor of Cultural Anthropology and Interim Director, Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Program
Newcomb 208
540.458.8807
goluboffs@wlu.edu

Green, Leah

Leah Naomi Green
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne Hall 213
(540) 458-4821
greenl@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Associate Professor of English
On sabbatical 2020-2021
Payne Hall 214
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

LaRiviere, Fred

Fred LaRiviere
Associate Dean of the College, Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Simpson House
540.458.8746
larivieref@wlu.edu

Levy, Jemma Alix

Jemma Alix Levy
Associate Professor of Theater
Lenfest 308
540.458.8005
levyj@wlu.edu

Marks, Richard G.

Richard G. Marks
Professor Emeritus of Religion
marksr@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
Thomas H. Broadus Professor of English
Payne 124
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Poetry; Native American literatures; women's literatures; literatures of U.S. populations whose work has been traditionally overlooked, such as LGBTQ2, Latinx, Appalachian.

Oliver, Bill

Bill Oliver
Writing Center Coordinator, Williams School Communications Center Director, and Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne 302
540.458.8278
oliverb@wlu.edu

Bill Oliver (PhD, University of Virginia) is the Coordinator of the Writing Center, and has served as the director of the CommCenter since 2015. Previously, he served as a consultant in the CommCenter and was the founding director of the VMI Writing Center (1996-2007). He is a professor of English at W&L and has taught a variety of writing courses, including in the Williams School.

Pickett, Holly

Holly Pickett
Associate Professor of English
Payne 304
540.458.8078
picketth@wlu.edu

Smout, Kary

Kary Smout
Associate Professor of English
Washington 112
540.458.8979
smoutk@wlu.edu

Walle, Taylor

Taylor Walle
Assistant Professor of English
Washington Hall 108
540.458.8362
wallet@wlu.edu

Warren, Jim

Jim Warren
Professor of English Emeritus
warrenj@wlu.edu

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
On sabbatical 2020-2021
Payne 308
540.458.8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu