Faculty and Staff Writing 100

Program Director

Ruiz, Florinda

Florinda Ruiz
Director of the Writing Program and Visiting Associate Professor of Writing
Payne Hall 202
540-458-8757
ruizf@wlu.edu

Faculty

Adams, Edward

Edward Adams
Professor of English
Payne 110
540.458.8764
adamse@wlu.edu

Brodie, Laura Fairchild

Laura Fairchild Brodie
Visiting Associate Professor of English
Payne 203
540.458.5896
brodiel@wlu.edu

Dobin, Hank

Hank Dobin
Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Newcomb Hall 305
hdobin@wlu.edu

Fuentes, Freddy

Freddy Fuentes
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne 309
540.458.4990
fuentesf@wlu.edu

Gavaler, Chris

Chris Gavaler
Associate Professor of English
Payne 305
540.458.8279
gavalerc@wlu.edu

Gertz, Genelle

Genelle Gertz
Associate Dean of Strategic Initiatives and Thomas H. Broadus, Jr. Professor of English
Payne 108
540.458.8763
gertzg@wlu.edu

Goluboff, Sascha L.

Sascha L. Goluboff
Professor of Cultural Anthropology
Newcomb 208
540.458.8807
goluboffs@wlu.edu

Green, Leah

Leah Naomi Green
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne Hall 213
(540) 458-4821
greenl@wlu.edu

Harrington, Jane

Jane Harrington
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne 302
703.915.9589 (text or call)
harringtonj@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Interim Chair, Medieval and Renaissance Studies Program | Associate Professor of English
Payne Hall 214
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

Kharputly, Nadeen

Nadeen Kharputly
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Washington Hall 110
540.458.8377
nkharputly@wlu.edu

LaRiviere, Fred

Fred LaRiviere
Associate Dean of the College, Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Simpson House
540.458.8746
larivieref@wlu.edu

Levy, Jemma Alix

Jemma Alix Levy
Associate Professor of Theater
Lenfest 308
540.458.8005
levyj@wlu.edu

Oliver, Bill

Bill Oliver
Writing Center Coordinator, Williams School Communications Center Director, and Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Leyburn 138
540.458.8278
oliverb@wlu.edu

Bill Oliver (PhD, University of Virginia) is the Coordinator of the Writing Center, and has served as the director of the CommCenter since 2015. Previously, he served as a consultant in the CommCenter and was the founding director of the VMI Writing Center (1996-2007). He is a professor of English at W&L and has taught a variety of writing courses, including in the Williams School.

Pickett, Holly

Holly Pickett
Associate Professor of English
On sabbatical 2021-2022
Payne 124
540.458.8078
picketth@wlu.edu

Smout, Kary

Kary Smout
Associate Professor of English
Washington 112
540.458.8979
smoutk@wlu.edu

Walle, Taylor

Taylor Walle
Assistant Professor of English
Washington Hall 108
540.458.8362
wallet@wlu.edu

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
Payne 308
540.458.8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu