Omicron Delta Kappa, Alpha Circle 1914 to Present

Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded December 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty, and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness. OΔK® was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship. The Alpha Circle also has a page

Alpha Circle, 2020-21


  • President: Sarah Concepcion ‘21
  • Vice President: Jeronimo Reyes Olmedo ‘21
  • Faculty Advisor: Elizabeth Knapp
  • Circle Coordinator: Kevin Finch

Voting Faculty Members

  • Kevin Finch, Assistant Professor of Journalism (2019-2022)
  • Elizabeth Knapp, Professor of Geology and Director of the Johnson Scholars Program (2019-2022)
  • Lucas Morel, Professor of Politics (2018-2021)
  • Mark Rush, Waxberg Professor of Politics and Law and Director, International Education (2018-2021)
  • Julie Woodzicka, Abigail Grigsby Urquhart Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science (2018-2021)

Alpha Circle Membership

Class of 2021

  • Midha Ahmad
  • Courtney Ann Berry
  • Danika Taylor Brockman
  • Katie Sue Cones
  • Sarah Concepcion
  • Amanda Nicole Dorsey
  • Micah W. Holcomb
  • Grace Anne Holladay
  • William Chase Isbell
  • Robert Sellors Lahourcade
  • Jenna Ruby Marvet
  • Brooklyne Nicole Oliveira
  • Alankrit Shatadal
  • Beth Ann Townsend
  • Graysen Aileen Doran
  • Lucas Ryan Flood
  • Callan Jane Garst
  • Patrick Marron Hofstedt
  • Erin Elizabeth Hughes
  • Cabrey Lee Keller
  • Maria Esther Hope Kisker
  • Mary Pace Lewis
  • Olivia Allison Luzzio
  • Emily Margaret Moran
  • Jeronimo Leonardo Reyes Olmedo
  • James Minh Ricks
  • Claire Rhodes Smith
  • Jonathan Burnell Tucker Jr.
  • Lorena Terroba Urruchua
  • Christopher Cargill Watt
  • Julia Allison Wickman
  • Melissa Victoria Yorio

Law Class of 2021

  • Charles Bonani
  • Emily Kuller Dalessio
  • Lucy Geneva Dempsey
  • Autumn Nicole Dickerson
  • Eduardo Enrique Garza III
  • Karlo Goronja
  • Chandler Hope Gray
  • Lauren Nicole Hancock
  • Aaron Russell Hardy
  • Corey J. Hauser
  • Daniel Justin Kator
  • Adenike Oluwatosin Renee Miles-Sorinmade
  • Anahita Mohtasham-Gharagozloo
  • Alexandra Preston Clark
  • Molly Payne Pugh
  • Noriya Shahadat
  • Kimberly Wu Shi
  • Thuan Tran
  • Brooke Elizabeth Wilson



The Omicron Delta Kappa Society, Inc., The National Leadership Honor Society for college students, recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership, and exemplary character. Membership in ODK is a mark of highest distinction and honor.

The Society recognizes achievement in scholarship; athletics; campus or community service, social, religious activities, and campus government; journalism, speech and the mass media; and the creative and performing arts. Emphasis is placed on the development of the whole person, both as a member of the college community and as a contributor to a better society. Since its founding, Omicron Delta Kappa has initiated over 300,000 members.

The Society recognizes achievement in the following five areas:

  • Scholarship
  • Athletics
  • Campus/Community Service, Social/Religious Activities, and Campus Government
  • Journalism, Speech and the Mass Media
  • Creative and Performing Arts

The ODK "mark of distinction" is well recognized by leaders in both the academic and business worlds.


The Purpose of The Omicron Delta Kappa Society is Threefold:

  • First, to recognize those who have attained a high standard of efficiency in collegiate activities and to inspire others to strive for conspicuous attainments along similar lines;
  • Second, to bring together the most representative students in all phases of collegiate life and thus to create an organization which will help to mould the sentiment of the institution on questions of local and intercollegiate interest;
  • Third, to bring together members of the faculty and student body of the institution on a basis of mutual interest and understanding.


Membership in Omicron Delta Kappa is as much an obligation and responsibility in leadership as it is a mark of highest distinction and honor. Membership is awarded to undergraduate junior and senior students; to graduate students; to faculty, staff, administration and alumni; and to persons qualifying for membership honoris causa. Student membership candidates must rank in the upper 35 percent in scholarship of their school or college and must show leadership in at least one of five areas:

  • Scholarship
  • Athletics
  • Campus/Community Service, Social/Religious Activities, and Campus Government
  • Journalism, Speech and the Mass Media
  • Creative and Performing Arts

Through membership in ODK, you gain potential friendships with nearly 270,000 living women and men whose peers recognize them as scholars and leaders; recognition by those around you who have been selected as the very top men and women at your college or university; recognition by leaders throughout the world; and the opportunity to continue lifetime service to your college with fellow ODK members and alumni.

The Foundation

The Omicron Delta Kappa Foundation, Inc., is a not-for-profit corporation chartered to administer the professional and philanthropic activities of the Omicron Delta Kappa Society. The Foundation awards $1,000 graduate scholarships each year to 13 outstanding ODK seniors who plan to attend accredited graduate or professional schools. Washington and Lee ODK members are also eligible for a separate scholarship named in honor of W&L alumnus Kennth P. Ruscio, former president of ODK and former president of W&L.

This page was last modified on June 23, 2021
© Washington and Lee University
Send questions and comments to