Faculty and Staff

Program Director

Diette, Timothy

Timothy M. Diette
Senior Advisor to the President for Strategic Analysis
Acting Director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability
Professor of Economics
Washington Hall 205
540.458.8220
diettet@wlu.edu

Founder

Beckley, Harlan

Harlan Beckley
Fletcher Otey Thomas Professor of Religion, Emeritus; Founding Director of the Shepherd Poverty Program; Founding Executive Director of the Shepherd Higher Education Consortium on Poverty
Newcomb 312
540.458.8164
beckleyh@wlu.edu

Staff

Brink, Ryan

Ryan Brink
Campus Kitchen Coordinator
Mattingly 307
540-458-8784
rbrink@wlu.edu

Davidson, Jenny

Jenny Davidson
Assistant Director
Mattingly 312
540.458.4669
jdavidson@wlu.edu

Elrod, Fran

Fran Elrod
Associate Director
Mattingly 304
540.458.8230
elrodf@wlu.edu

Frey, Marisa

Marisa Charley
Associate Director | Bonner Program Director | Instructor of Poverty Studies
Mattingly 310
540.458.8131
charleym@wlu.edu

Core Faculty

Bell, Melina

Melina Bell
Professor of Philosophy and Law
Washington Hall 312
540.458.8899
bellm@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Professor of Sociology and Department Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology
Newcomb Hall 104
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Goldsmith, Arthur

Art Goldsmith
Jackson T. Stephens Professor of Economics
Huntley 212
540.458.8970
goldsmitha@wlu.edu

Handy, Chris

Chris Handy
Assistant Professor of Economics
Huntley 112
540.458.8922
handyc@wlu.edu

King, John D.

John D. King
Clinical Professor of Law, Director of Experiential Education and Director, Criminal Justice Clinic
381 Lewis Hall
kingj@wlu.edu

Miranda, Deborah A.

Deborah A. Miranda
Thomas H. Broadus Professor of English
Payne 124
540.458.8755
mirandad@wlu.edu

Poetry; Native American literatures; women's literatures; literatures of U.S. populations whose work has been traditionally overlooked, such as LGBTQ2, Latinx, Appalachian.

Murdock, Karla

Karla Murdock
Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science
Parmly Hall 238
540.458.8248
murdockk@wlu.edu

Perez, Marcos

Marcos Perez
Assistant Professor of Sociology
225 Newcomb Hall
540-458-8793
mperez@wlu.edu

Pickett, Howard

Howard Pickett
Associate Professor of Ethics and Poverty Studies, and Director of the Shepherd Program for the Interdisciplinary Study of Poverty and Human Capability, and Adjunct Professor of Law
On sabbatical 2020-2021
picketthy@wlu.edu

Sanchez, Shaundel

Shaundel Sanchez
Visiting Assistant Professor, Poverty Studies
Mattingly
ssanchez@wlu.edu

Shaughnessy, Joan M.

Joan M. Shaughnessy
Roger D. Groot Professor of Law
488 Lewis Hall
shaughnessyj@wlu.edu

Shester, Katharine L.

Katharine L. Shester
Associate Professor of Economics
Huntley 110
540.458.8607
shesterk@wlu.edu

Taylor, Erin

Erin Taylor
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Washington Hall 320
540.458.8051
taylore@wlu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Blunch, Niels-Hugo

Niels-Hugo Blunch
Professor of Economics
Huntley 113
540.458.8619
blunchn@wlu.edu

Brock, Michelle D.

Michelle D. Brock
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb 316
brockm@wlu.edu

The Age of the Witch-hunts, history of Medieval, early modern, and modern Britain, Scottish history, the British Reformations

Chin, Lynn G.

Lynn G. Chin
Associate Professor of Sociology
Newcomb 210
540.458.8791
chinl@wlu.edu

Colón, Aly

Aly Colón
John S. and James L. Knight Professor of Media Ethics
Reid 120
540.458.8433
colona@wlu.edu

Goluboff, Sascha L.

Sascha L. Goluboff
Professor of Cultural Anthropology and Interim Director, Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Program
Newcomb 208
540.458.8807
goluboffs@wlu.edu

Guse, Joseph

Joseph Guse
Professor of Economics
Huntley 103
540.458.8915
gusej@wlu.edu

Harris, Rebecca C.

Rebecca C. Harris
Professor of Politics
Huntley 204
540.458.8199
harrisr@wlu.edu

Hess, Andrew M.

Andrew M. Hess
Ehrick Kilner Haight, Sr. Term Associate Professor of Business Administration and Associate Department Head of Business Administration
Huntley 309
540.458.8346
hessa@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Associate Professor of English
On sabbatical 2020-2021
Payne Hall 214
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

Markowitz, Harvey

Harvey Markowitz
Professor Emeritus of Anthropology
Newcomb 308
540.458.8214
markowitzh@wlu.edu

Michelmore, Molly

Molly Michelmore
Professor of History, Department Head
Newcomb Hall 103
540.458.8779
michelmorem@wlu.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. Political, Cultural and Social

Moffa, Eric D.

Eric D. Moffa, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Education
Newcomb 107
540-458-8778
moffae@wlu.edu

Novack, David R.

David R. Novack
Professor Emeritus of Sociology
Newcomb Hall 312
novackd@wlu.edu

Sandberg, Stephanie

Stephanie Sandberg
Assistant Professor of Theater
Lenfest Center 309
540.458.8004
sandbergs@wlu.edu

Sigler, Haley

Haley Sigler, Ph.D.
Director of Education Studies, Associate Professor
Newcomb Hall 109
540.458.8284
siglerh@wlu.edu

Silwal, Shikha

Shikha Silwal
Associate Professor of Economics
on leave 2020-2021 Academic Year
Holekamp 212
540.458.8256
silwals@wlu.edu

Development Economics, Conflict and Peace Studies, and Law and Economics

Smith, Angela

Angela Smith
Distinguished Fellow
smitha@wlu.edu