University Board of Appeals (faculty)

University Board of Appeals (UBA) is chaired by the Dean of Students and hears all appeals from the student conduct process filed by individuals, groups, or the University Official, with the exception of appeals from the Executive Committee of the Student Body. Two Undergraduate Faculty and two Law Faculty are elected for two-year terms, from among those not on the Student Affairs Committee, with initial faculty appointments staggered to assure that no more than one of each will rotate off in a particular year. Alternate members for University Board of Appeals shall be elected at the same time as members are elected. There shall be two alternates, decided as the first runners-up in the election of members, one from the undergraduate faculty and one from the law faculty. Alternates will serve in the event a board member needs to resign or recuse, or cannot participate in a hearing due to unforeseen circumstances. Six student representatives (one undergraduate junior, two undergraduate seniors, one second-year law, two third-year law) are appointed by the Executive Committee of the Student Body each year for a one-year term.

The Student Affairs site for the board is at

Sidney Evans, Chair

Ex Officio Member:

  • Sidney Evans, VP for Student Affairs and Dean of Students

Four Faculty representatives - Elected annually for two-year terms:

  • Gavin Fox 2019-2021
  • Carliss Chatman (LS) - 2019-2021
  • Dan Johnson - 2018-2020
  • David Bruck (LS) - 2018-2020

Two Faculty alternates - Elected for two-year terms:

  • Christine Clancy - 2018-2020
  • Timothy MacDonnell (LS) - 2018-2020

Student representatives - Appointed annually for a one-year term:

  • Law 3rd-year representative: Lauren Bond '19L - 2018-2019
  • Law 3rd-year representative: Garner Stapp '19L - 2018-2019
  • Law 2nd-year representative: Whitney Lambeth '20L - 2018-2019
  • Undergraduate senior representative: Caroline Nowlin '19U - 2018-2019
  • Undergraduate senior representative: Lorena Hernandez Barcena '19U - 2018-2019
  • Undergraduate junior representative: James McAlevey '20U - 2018-2019