University Committee on Inclusiveness and Campus Climate

The University Committee on Inclusiveness and Campus Climate (UCICC) reports to the President and is charged to provide guidance to the President and other members of the university as we build a supportive, inclusive and diverse community and create a climate open and welcoming to persons from diverse backgrounds. The committee represents the views of students, staff, administration, and faculty. It will help the University fulfill its institutional values that stress the importance of the individual and respect for others.

Reporting directly to the President, the committee's specific charge is to:

  1. Produce an annual report on our campus climate, especially with respect to inclusiveness and diversity, that charts the University's progress on key longitudinal measures.
  2. Advise the President on matters related to inclusiveness and campus climate.
  3. Address from time to time particular issues of concern, such as gender or racial relations across campus, through focused study and analysis, and make recommendations to the President for further action by appropriate University officials, committees or administrative bodies.
  4. Provide an institutional platform to address issues of inclusiveness and diversity, in response to concerns within the campus community.

Committee Members

Ex Officio

Mary Main, Co-Chair
Executive Director, Human Resources

Paul Youngman, Co-Chair
Associate Provost

Stephanie Sandberg
Core Faculty, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Kristie Ford
Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Tamara Futrell
Dean for Diversity, Inclusion and Student Engagement

Janine Hathorn
Head of the Department of Physical Education and Athletics

Trenya Mason
representative of the Law School

Leonard Satterwhite
Associate Dean of Admissions

Hunter Swanson
Associate Director, International Education

Beth Lucy-Speidel
Associate Dean of the College


Stephen McCormick
Associate Professor of French

Fiona Watson
Associate Professor of Biology

Diego Millan
Assistant Professor of English

Zoila Ponce de Leon Seijas
Assistant Professor of Politics
2020-2024 (replacing Elizabeth Denne - 2018-2021)


Ethan Kipnes
Director of Public Safety (supervisor/administrator)
July 2019 - June 2022

Asianna Holloway
Administrative Assistant
July 2021 - July 2024

Jaclynn Falls
Library Office Manager
July 2021 - July 2024

Brittany Clark
Employment Coordinator
July 2021 - July 2022


Enuma Anekwe-Desince '22U

Jin Ni '22U

Catherine Xia '23U

Andrew Nissensohn '23U

Committee Composition

The committee membership consists of the following:

  • Executive Director of Human Resources;
  • Associate Provost;
  • Four faculty members, appointed by the Provost and to include representation from each of the three academic units;
  • One representative of the Center for International Education or a representative from the Committee on International Education;
  • Head of the Department of Physical Education and Athletics;
  • Assistant Dean for Law Student Affairs in the School of Law;
  • An Associate Dean of Student Affairs;
  • Head of the Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program or a representative from that program's core faculty selected by the Provost;
  • Three non-exempt staff members, appointed by the Vice President for Finance and Administration upon the recommendation of the Executive Director of Human Resources, chosen from the operations and support staff to attain broad representation;
  • One supervisor/administrator, appointed by the Vice President for Finance and Administration upon the recommendation of the Executive Director of Human Resources; and
  • Five students, to include at least one law student, nominated by the Student Body Executive Committee and appointed by the Vice President for Student Affairs. Student appointments will take place in the spring term preceding the academic year in which appointed students begin service.

Members serve three-year terms, with the exception of the students who will serve one-year terms but also be eligible for additional terms through re-nomination by the Executive Committee and subsequent re-appointment by the VPSA/Dean of Students. The terms of the initial members of the committee will be staggered to ensure continuity of membership in the committee's formative years.

The committee is co-chaired by the Associate Provost and the Executive Director of Human Resources.