Honorary Degrees (created by the Board)

The By-laws define the duties and composition of the committee as follows: "The President's Advisory Committee and the Rector of the Board shall constitute a Committee on Honorary Degrees which shall be chaired by the Provost. The Board, on its own initiative or upon recommendation of the Committee, may from time to time grant such honorary degrees as it deems proper, and must approve honorary degree recipients."

Lena Hill, Chair

Ex Officio Members:

  • Mike McAlevey, Rector of the Board of Trustees
  • Lena Hill, Provost and Professor of English and Africana Studies
  • Melanie Wilson, Dean of the School of Law
  • Chawne Kimber, Dean of The College
  • Robert Straughan, Dean of the Williams School

Advisory Committee Members:

Lucas Morel, Professor of Politics - 2021-2022 (one year leave replacement for Jon Erickson, Associate Professor of Engineering - 2021-2024)
Kish Vinayagamoorthy, Associate Professor of Law - 2021-2024
Janet Ikeda Yuba, Associate Professor of Japanese - 2021 - 2024
Lynny Chin, Associate Professor of Sociology - 2021-2024
Kevin Beanland, Professor, Mathematics - 2020-2023 (serving as replacement for Toni Locy, 2019-2022)
Karla Murdock, Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science - 2019-2022
Katherine (Katie) Shester, Associate Professor of Economics - 2020-2023
Alecia Swasy, Professor of Business Journalism - 2020-2023
Erich Uffelman, Professor of Chemistry - 2020-2023