International Education

International Education Committee reports to the Provost and comprises 15 individuals, with eight members appointed by the Provost and seven ex officio members. The Provost appoints six undergraduate faculty members (three from The College, including one from the departments teaching modern world languages, two from the Williams School and one from the Law School) and two undergraduate students recommended by the Student EC (including one international student recommended by SAIL). The ex officio members are: Associate Dean of The College (with faculty status), Associate Dean of the Williams School, University Registrar, and, from the Center for International Education, the Director, Associate Director, Study Abroad Adviser, and Program Coordinator.

The committee's responsibilities include:

  • providing a faculty voice and general oversight on matters pertaining to study abroad and other international education issues as brought up by the Director of International Education, the Deans, and the Provost;
  • monitoring and reviewing general policy issues including
    o curricular and extra-curricular issues intrinsic to international education
    o financial considerations,
    o safety and liability issues, credit transfer, etc.;
  • advising the Center for International Education (CIE), with regard to ensuring the academic quality and integrity of term, year, and Summer study abroad initiatives;
  • reviewing Spring Term Abroad course proposals and logistics;
  • reviewing applications to study abroad at non-approved locations/institutions.

Aliaa Bassiouny, Interim Chair Fall '22

Ex officio members:

  • Lisa Rodocker, Assistant Dean of Law Admissions
  • Fred LaRiviere, Associate Dean of The College
  • Jillian Murphy, Study Abroad Coordinator, International Education
  • Kim Robinson, University Registrar
  • Cynthia (Cindy) Irby, Study Abroad Adviser, as committee secretary
  • Elizabeth Oliver, Associate Dean of the Williams School
  • Mark Rush, Director of International Education
  • Hunter Swanson, Associate Director of Inernational Education

Appointed Faculty Members - One annually for 4-year terms:

  • Keri Larson (WS) - 2019-2023
  • Antoine Edwards - 2020-2024 
  • Aliaa Bassiouny (WS) - 2020-2024
  • Yanhong Zhu - 2020-2024
  • Haley Sigler - 2022-2026

Two Students (one an international student recommended by SAIL) nominated by the Student EC, appointed by the President: 

  • Sambridhi Tuladhar (SAIL Representative) 
  • Rebecca Nason '25 - 2022-23