Community Engagement and Service Learning Advisory Committee

The Community Engagement and Service Learning Advisory Committee (CESL Advisory) advises the university on community-engaged learning, coordinates the university's multiple programs and organizations involved in community-engaged learning, and reports to the Provost on these issues. It is chaired by the Director of Community-Based Learning and includes the following members: the Associate Provost, a representative from the Office of Student Affairs; a representative from the Office of Inclusion and Engagement; the Director of the Shepherd Program in Poverty and Human Capability Studies; five faculty, including one representative each from the Education Studies Program, the ESOL group, and the law school; two students; and up to four community partners. Duties of the CESL Advisory Committee include:

  • discussion and coordination of community-engaged learning initiatives, projects, and programs
  • outreach, expansion, and education about community-engaged learning
  • data collection and reporting
  • development and grant-writing efforts, and
  • advocacy on behalf of community-engaged learning as an academic resource within the university community

Sascha Goluboff, Chair

Ex Officio Members:

Howard Pickett, Director, Shepherd Program
Tamara Futrell, Dean for Diversity, Inclusion, and Student Engagement
Sascha Goluboff, Faculty Director of Community-Based Learning
Kelsey Goodwin, Director of Student Activities
Paul Youngman, Associate Provost

Five Faculty Members, alternating three-year appointments:

Stephanie Sandberg (2021-2024)
Sarah Blythe (2021-2024)
Matthew Boaz, Law School representative (2020-2023)
Michael Hill (2020-2023)
Haley Sigler, Education Studies representative (2020-2023)

Two Students, alternating two-year appointments:

TBD (2023-2025)
Georgia Bernbaum (2023-2025)

Up to four Community Partners, alternating two-year appointments:

Tammy Dunn, Lexington Office on Youth (2021-2023)
Rebecca Wilder, Virginia Cooperative Extension (2021-2023)
Mikhala Stafford, Project Horizon (2022-2024)
Lindsey Perez, Rockbridge Area Relief Association (2022-2024)