General Education Implementation Committee GEIC


The members of the General Education Development Committee (GEDC) recommend that the undergraduate faculty form a General Education Implementation Committee (GEIC) with the following charge: GEIC will implement changes to the Foundation and Distribution Requirements (FDR) according to the general education program approved by the undergraduate faculty. GEIC's membership will be established following a similar process to that by which GEDC was formed. GEIC will be made up of three faculty members elected by the faculty in an at-large election, with no categories or divisions, though no more than one member per department can be elected. Three faculty members will be appointed by the Faculty Executive Committee (FEC). When filling out the committee, FEC will consider, in no particular order: maintaining some membership continuity with GERC or GEDC, diversity in terms of gender, race/ethnicity, rank, representation of College and Williams School faculty, representation from other areas, e.g., minors and interdisciplinary programs, and results from the at-large election. The faculty committee will fill out their membership with non-voting ex-officio members from areas that may include but are not limited to Student Affairs, the Harte Center for Teaching and Learning, the office of Accreditation and Institutional Research, the Registrar's Office, and Community-Based Learning.


Lloyd Tanlu, Associate Professor, Accounting and Finance, committee co-chair
Paul Gregory, Professor, Philosophy, committee co-chair


Andrea Lepage, Professor, Art History, ex-officio member (non-voting)


Mackenzie Brooks, Associate Professor, University Library
Dan Johnson, Professor, Cognitive and Behavioral Science and Data Science
Tom McClain, Assistant Professor, Physics and Engineering
Holly Pickett, Professor, English