Institute for Honor Advisory Board

Institute for Honor Advisory Board: The Class of 1960, with generous gifts to the university, established the Institute for Honor and endowed a Professorship in Ethics to be held by a distinguished university faculty member. The Institute for Honor Advisory Board has representation from alumni (including members of the Class of 1960 whenever possible), faculty, administrators and EC officers, past and present. The Board helps the Provost and the Class of 1960 Professor of Ethics gain campus, interdisciplinary, and external perspectives on the cogency and promise of projects under consideration and appropriate and needed assistance in completing the project(s) or event(s) proposed by the Professor and funded by the Institute for Honor Endowment. The Advisory Board provides perspectives and guidance with respect to projects that are related to the understanding and practice of honor as an indispensable element of society and the importance of ethics, honor, integrity, and applications of ethical reasoning in addressing contemporary issues.

The initial composition of the board is defined by the memorandum of understanding of May 2012 and by action of the Provost.


  • Lena Hill, Provost

Ex Officio Members

  • Lena Hill, Provost and Professor of English and Africana Studies
  • Kish Parella, Class of 1960 Professor of Ethics and Law
  • Tom Jennings, Vice President for University Advancement
  • TBD, Director of Lifelong Learning Programs
  • Barton Myers, former Class of 1960 Professor of Ethics and History

Alumni Representatives with an Interest in Honor

  • Tom Greenwood, '77
  • Pierce Owings, '06
  • Bennett Ross, '83
  • Helen Hughes Sanders, '04

Faculty Representatives Appointed by the Provost

  • Rebecca Harris, Professor of Politics
  • Karla Murdock, Jo M. and James M. Ballengee Sr. Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science

Current President of the Executive Committee of the Student Body

  • Harris Stripling '25 - 2024-2025