Glasgow Endowment

Glasgow Endowment Committee is composed of five undergraduate faculty members from the humanities, appointed by the President, chiefly from the language arts departments, and the Associate Dean of The College with faculty rank, along with two student appointees. It controls the funds of the Glasgow Endowment, a bequest by Arthur Graham Glasgow "to promote the art of expression by pen and tongue, including voice production and delivery." It plans and produces public programs involving language artists/poets, dramatists, and fiction writers, as well as others whose words can be characterized as "artful expression."

The Glasgow Distinguished Visiting Writer (GDVW) program is sponsored by the Glasgow Endowment. This program brings in a distinguished writer each year to teach a creative writing course in their area of expertise. Courses are small so that students get individualized attention, and enrollment is by application only. The course may be offered during any of the three academic terms. Beginning in the 2022-23 academic year, the invited writer is chosen in alternate years by the English Department, and then by the Committee through open submissions from the rest of campus. Anyone interested in proposing someone for the GDVW should submit a proposal to the Chair of the committee.

Committee Policies


Ex Officio Members

  • Lena Hill, Provost
  • Genelle Gertz, Associate Dean of Strategic Initiatives

Five Appointed Faculty Members

  • Monica Botta - 2021-2026
  • Emily Filler - 2022-2027
  • Beth Staples - 2020-2025
  • Seth Michelson - 2020-2025
  • Lubabah Chowdhury - 2023-2028

Two Students

  • Chloe Duensing '24 - 2023-2024
  • Alaina Pastore '25- 2023-2024