Community Engagement and Service Learning Committee

Community Engagement and Service-Learning Committee

The Community Engagement and Service-Learning Committee (CESL) advises the university on community-engaged learning, coordinates the university's multiple programs and organizations involved in community-engaged learning, and reports to the Provost on these issues. It is chaired by the Director of Community-Based Learning and includes the following members: the Associate Provost for Faculty Development, representatives from the Office of Student Affairs; the Office of Inclusion and Engagement; Education Studies; the Director of the Shepherd Program in Poverty and Human Capability Studies; five faculty members appointed by the Provost, including one representative from the law school; two students; and up to four community partners. Duties of the CESL Advisory Committee include:
• discussion and coordination of community-engaged learning initiatives, projects, and programs
• outreach, expansion, and education about community-engaged learning
• data collection and reporting
• development and grant-writing efforts, and
• advocacy on behalf of community-engaged learning as an academic resource within the university community

Sascha Goluboff, Chair

Ex Officio Members:
Jenny Davidson, Associate Director, Shepherd Program
Fiorela Giraldo Prado de Lewis, Senior Program Coordinator for the Office of Inclusion and Engagement
Sascha Goluboff, Faculty Director of Community-Based Learning
Laura Ulmer, Director of Student Activities
Leslie Wingard-Cunningham, Associate Provost for Faculty Development
Eric Moffa, Associate Professor of Education

Five Faculty Members, alternating three-year appointments:

Stephanie Sandberg (2021-2024)
Sarah Blythe (2021-2024)
Keri Gould, Law School representative (2023-2026)
Romina Green (2023-2026)
Jill Sundie (2023-2026)

Two Students, alternating two-year appointments:

Georgia Bernbaum '25 (2023-2025)
Janae Darby '25 (2023-2025)

Up to four Community Partners, alternating two-year appointments:

Mikhala Stafford, Project Horizon (2022-2024)
Lindsey Perez, Rockbridge Area Relief Association (2022-2024)
Tasha Walsh (2023-2025)