WLU First-Generation Directory

Our support for First-Gen students come from a good place - within our own ranks. There are faculty and staff members within the W&L community who themselves were first generation college student and they are available as a resource and support structure for others.

First Generation College Graduates

Alexander, Brian

Brian Alexander
Associate Professor of Politics
Huntley 320
540-458-8054
alexanderb@wlu.edu

Alty, Lisa

Lisa Alty
John T. Herwick, M.D. Professor of Chemistry
Science Addition A329
540-458-8927
altyl@wlu.edu

Anderson, Michael

Michael Anderson
Robert E. Sadler, Jr. Professor of Economics
Huntley 313
540-458-8971
andersonm@wlu.edu

Sydney Anderson
Director of Athletics Communications
540-458-8676
sanderson@wlu.edu

Andrews, Jennifer S.

Jennifer S. Andrews
Assistant Director of Law School Admissions
540-458-8569
andrewsj@wlu.edu

Barnett, Jeff

Jeff Barnett
S. Blount Mason Jr. Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 304
540-458-8950
barnettj@wlu.edu

Latin American Narrative and Cultural Studies, with regional emphasis on Mexican, Central American, and Pan-Caribbean cultures.

Barry, Jeffrey

Jeffrey Barry
Associate Professor and Library Technology Developer
Leyburn M38
540-458-8641
barryj@wlu.edu

Bowers, Sarah

Sarah Bowers
Director of Employment
2 S Main B01
540-458-8579
sbowers@wlu.edu

Pre-Employment Onboarding (background check, tax withholding, Form I-9 and other employment forms), Orientation of New Employees, Seasonal Employment Specialist, Utilization of Volunteers, and Newcomers Group

Brandy, Shamar

Shamar Brandy
Athletic Equipment Services Manager
sbrandy@wlu.edu

Broda, James

James Broda
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
On leave Fall 2023
Chavis Hall 112
540-458-8805
jbroda@wlu.edu

Bryant, Ronda M.

Ronda M. Bryant
Associate Dean of Students
Commons 360
540-458-4111
rbryant2@wlu.edu

Bustos, Heidi

Heidi Bustos
Assistant Director of Inclusion and Engagement
Commons 214
540-458-8251
hbustos@wlu.edu

Laura Campbell
Public Safety Technology Manager
lcampbell@wlu.edu

Carr, Brittany

Brittany Carr
Assistant Director of CPD, Pre-Health Professions
Elrod Commons 306
540-458-4151
bcarr@wlu.edu

Advising Focus Area: Pre-Health Professions

Kerri Chapman
Deputy Chief Information Officer
115 West Nelson Street 302
540-458-8426
kchapman@wlu.edu

Colbert, Cory

Cory Colbert
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Chavis Hall 102
540-458-8655
ccolbert@wlu.edu

Compton, Chris

Chris Compton
Laboratory Technician and Research Specialist
Howe Hall 215
540-458-8850
comptonc@wlu.edu

Conley, Brandon

Brandon Conley (he/him)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Washington Hall 315
540-458-8195
bconley@wlu.edu

Desjardins, Steve

Steve Desjardins
Professor of Chemistry
Science Addition A330B
540-458-8873
desjardins@wlu.edu

Ferguson, Meghan

Meghan Ferguson
Financial Aid Coordinator
mferguson@wlu.edu

Finch, Carrie

Carrie Finch-Smith
Professor of Mathematics
On leave Fall 2023
Chavis Hall 207
540-458-8209
finchc@wlu.edu

Friend, Kyle

Kyle Friend
Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Science Addition A427
540-458-8616
friendk@wlu.edu

Fuentes, Freddy

Freddy Fuentes
Visiting Assistant Professor of English
Payne 309
540-458-4990
fuentesf@wlu.edu

Futrell, Tamara

Tamara Futrell
Dean for Diversity, Inclusion and Student Engagement
Commons 212
540-458-8766
tfutrell@wlu.edu

Garvis, Dennis M.

Dennis M. Garvis
Professor of Business Administration
Huntley 308
540-458-8069
garvisd@wlu.edu

Gaylord, Donald

Donald Gaylord
Research Archaeologist and Instructor of Anthropology
Newcomb 204
540-458-8378
gaylordd@wlu.edu

Goldsmith, Arthur

Art Goldsmith
Jackson T. Stephens Professor of Economics
Huntley 212
540-458-8970
goldsmitha@wlu.edu

Adam Gross
Director of Admissions Operations
Gilliam Admissions House 111
agross@wlu.edu

Shanice Hardy
Assistant Director of Financial Aid
shardy@wlu.edu

Hobbs, Megan

Megan Hobbs
Associate Dean of Students, Dean of Juniors and Dean of Seniors
Commons 353
540-458-4408
mhobbs@wlu.edu

Hurt, Linda

Linda Hurt
Executive Assistant
Washington Hall 301
540-458-8530
lhurt@wlu.edu

I'Anson, Helen

Helen I'Anson
John T. Perry Professor of Biology and Research Science
Howe 405
540-458-8974
iansonh@wlu.edu

Irani, Afshad

Afshad Irani
Professor of Accounting and Head of the Accounting & Finance Department
Holekamp 109
540-458-8628
irania@wlu.edu

Irby, Cindy

Cindy Irby
Associate Director, Study Abroad Advisor
Center for Global Learning 143
540-458-8193
cirby@wlu.edu

Johnson, Vaughn

Vaughn Johnson
Assistant Professor of PE & Assistant Football Coach
vjohnson@wlu.edu

Murtaza Kapasi
Assistant Director of Alumni Affinity Programs
540-458-8710
mkapasi@wlu.edu

Jan Kaufman
Director of Health Promotion
Elrod Univ Commons 250
540-458-4501
jkaufman@wlu.edu

Knudson, Julie

Julie Knudson
Director of Academic Technologies
James G. Leyburn Library 115 (Level 1)
540-458-8125
jmknudson@wlu.edu

Lamb, Matthew

Matthew Lamb (he/him)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Washington Hall 320
540-458-8899
mlamb@wlu.edu

LaRiviere, Fred

Fred LaRiviere
Associate Dean of the College, Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Simpson House
540-458-8746
larivieref@wlu.edu

Lewis, Fio Giraldo Prado de

Fio Giraldo Prado de Lewis
Inclusion and Engagement Senior Program Coordinator
Commons 210
540-458-4841
fgiraldopradodelewis@wlu.edu

Locy, Toni

Toni Locy
Professor of Journalism & Mass Communications
540-458-8492
locyt@wlu.edu

Loughhead, Grace

Grace Loughhead
Associate Dean of Admissions
gloughhead@wlu.edu

Margalus, Jayson

Jayson Margalus
Johnson Professor of Entrepreneurship and Leadership and Director of the Connolly Center for Entrepreneurship
Huntley Hall 309
540-458-8610
jmargalus@wlu.edu

McCoil, Kyle

Kyle McCoil
Assistant Dean of Students and Dean of Sophomores
Commons 354
540-458-4817
kmccoil@wlu.edu

Millan, Diego

Diego Millan
Assistant Professor of English and Core Faculty in Africana Studies
Washington 110
540-458-8759
dmillan@wlu.edu

Morel, Lucas

Lucas Morel
John K. Boardman, Jr. Professor of Politics and Head of the Politics Department
Huntley 121A
540-458-8161
morell@wlu.edu

Myers, Barton A.

Barton A. Myers
Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 223
540-458-8776
myersb@wlu.edu

American Civil War, War and Society, U.S. South, Public History

Brittany Norwood
Visiting Assistant Professor and Visiting Research Services Librarian
bnorwood@wlu.edu

Olan, Lorri

Lorri Olan P'17
Senior Associate Director of CPD, Diversity Initiatives Lead and Pre-Law Advisor
Elrod Commons 304
540-458-8591
olanl@wlu.edu

Advising Focus Areas: Arts and Entertainment; Education; Government and Politics; Law; Non-Profit and Public Interest

Eric J. Owsley
Director of Admissions and Financial Aid Communications
540-458-8712
owsleye@wlu.edu

Responsibilities: Application development and information architecture.

Reid, Chris

Chris Reid
Director of Residence Life
Commons 330
540-458-4070
creid@wlu.edu

Repair, Judy

Judy Repair
Administrative Assistant
Office of Community-Based Learning
jrepair@wlu.edu

Rodocker, Jason L.

Jason L. Rodocker
Associate Dean of Students and Dean for First-Year Experience
Commons 359
540-458-8753
jrodocker@wlu.edu

Roots, Jaime

Jaime Roots
Visiting Assistant Professor of German
Ruscio Center for Global Learning 219
540-458-8828
jroots@wlu.edu

Rose, Danica

Danica Rose
Regional Director of Development
drose@wlu.edu

Scales, Adam

Adam Scales
Assistant Director of Academic Resources
James G. Leyburn Library 108
540-458-4116
ascales@wlu.edu

Shablack, Holly

Holly Shablack
Assistant Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science
Parmly Hall 238
540-458-5855
hshablack@wlu.edu

Sigler, Haley

Haley Sigler, Ph.D.
Director of Education Studies, Associate Professor
Newcomb Hall 107
540-458-8284
siglerh@wlu.edu

Sircy, Jennifer

Jennifer M. Sircy
Executive Assistant and Faculty Affairs Specialist
Simpson House
540-458-4869
jsircy@wlu.edu

Smith, Chantal

Chantal Smith
Assistant Professor of Economics
Huntley 313
540-458-8617
csmith@wlu.edu

Snider, Misty

Misty Snider
Executive Assistant
The Williams School
540-458-8602
msnider@wlu.edu

Snyder, Bryan

Bryan Snyder
Associate Director of Athletics for Finance & Head Volleyball Coach
snyderb@wlu.edu

Stover, Rebecca

Rebecca Stover
Assistant University Registrar
540-458-8450
rstover@wlu.edu

Primary office email contact, transcript requests, "holds" placed on transcripts or registration by other offices, website management, registration and drop/add

Tatman, Dallas

Dallas Tatman
Assistant Director of Fellowships and Visiting Instructor of Anthropology
dtatman@wlu.edu

Uhl, Brandon

Brandon Uhl
Associate Professor and Norris T Aldridge Men's Track and Field Head Coach
uhlb@wlu.edu

Watson, Cody

Cody Watson
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Parmly 413B
540-458-4872
cwatson@wlu.edu

Wheeler, Lesley

Lesley Wheeler
Henry S. Fox Professor of English
Payne 308
540-458-8758
wheelerlm@wlu.edu

Williams, Jodi

Jodi Williams
Executive Director of Human Resources
2 S Main Room 109
540-458-8318
jwilliams@wlu.edu

HR Strategy and Governance, Department Management, Policies and Procedures, and Employee Relations & HR Consulting

Wills, Gina

Gina Wills
Head Field Hockey Coach
willsr@wlu.edu

Wilson, Melanie

Melanie Wilson
Dean and Roy L. Steinheimer Jr. Professor of Law
mwilson@wlu.edu

John Wolfgang
Assistant Director of Admissions
540-458-8710
jwolfgang@wlu.edu

Woodzicka, Julie

Julie Woodzicka
Professor of Cognitive and Behavioral Science
Parmly Hall 240
540-458-8834
woodzickaj@wlu.edu

Youngman, Paul

Paul Youngman
Associate Provost for Academic Development and Operations
Washington Hall, Third Floor
540-458-8705
youngmanp@wlu.edu

Zapata, Fernando

Fernando Zapata
Ted Delaney Postdoctoral Fellow
Washington Hall 322
540-458-8727
fzapata@wlu.edu

Law Students