Faculty and Staff

Program Director

Pickett, Holly

Holly Pickett
Associate Professor of English
Payne 304
540.458.8078
picketth@wlu.edu

Core Faculty

Bailey, Matthew

Matthew Bailey
Department Chair, Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 302
540.458.8160
baileym@wlu.edu

Benefiel, Rebecca R.

Rebecca R. Benefiel
Professor of Classics
Tucker Hall 105
540.458.8082
benefielr@wlu.edu

Latin epigraphy, Roman archaeology, Latin literature, Pompeii and Herculaneum

Bent, George

George Bent
Sidney Gause Childress Professor in the Arts
Wilson Hall 3017
540.458.8863
bentg@wlu.edu

Brock, Michelle D.

Michelle D. Brock
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb 316
540.458.8780
brockm@wlu.edu

The Age of the Witch-hunts, history of Medieval, early modern, and modern Britain, Scottish history, the British Reformations

Campbell, Gwyn E.

Gwyn E. Campbell
Professor of Spanish
Leave 2020/2021
Tucker Hall 306
540.458.8823
campbellg@wlu.edu

Crockett, Roger

Roger Crockett
Professor of German and Interim Department Chair
Ruscio Center for Global Learning 239
(540) 458-8825
crockettr@wlu.edu

Dobin, Hank

Hank Dobin
Professor of Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Newcomb Hall 305
hdobin@wlu.edu

Gertz, Genelle

Genelle Gertz
Professor of English and Chair, English Department
Payne 111
540.458.8763
gertzg@wlu.edu

Kao, Wan-Chuan

Wan-Chuan Kao
Associate Professor of English
On sabbatical 2020-2021
Payne Hall 214
540.458.8345
kaow@wlu.edu

Levy, Jemma Alix

Jemma Alix Levy
Assistant Professor of Theater
Lenfest 308
540.458.8005
levyj@wlu.edu

McCormick, Stephen

Stephen P. McCormick
Associate Professor of French and Italian
On Sabbatical Fall 2019 and Winter 2020
Tucker Hall, Room 324
540.458.8817
mccormicks@wlu.edu

Old French epic, Italian medieval and early modern literature, digital humanities, manuscript studies, TEI, IIIF.

Prager, Debra

Debra Prager
Associate Professor of German
On Sabbatical leave 2019-2020
Ruscio Center for Global Learning 241
(540) 458-8830
pragerd@wlu.edu

Elementary German I & II, Intermediate German, Highlights of German Civilization,The Grimms Revisited: Fairy Tales and Popular Culture; Living by the Code: Literature of the High Middle Ages19th-Century Literature

Radulescu, Domnica

Domnica Radulescu
Edwin A. Morris Professor of Comparative Literature
Newcomb Hall, Room 313
540.458.8030
radulescud@wlu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Atanasova, Kameliya N.

Kameliya N. Atanasova
Assistant Professor of Religion
Tucker 207
540.458.8797
atanasovak@wlu.edu

Brown, Alexandra

Alexandra Brown
Fletcher Otey Thomas Professor in Bible
Tucker 206
540.458.8789
browna@wlu.edu

Early Christian Writings and Culture from the New Testament to Late Antiquity, Bible and Film, Pilgrimage, Mysticism, Gender and Religion, Early Irish Religion, Theory and Method in the Study of Religion

Horowitz, Sarah

Sarah Horowitz
Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 306
540.458.8773
horowitzs@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, France, Women in Europe

Lubin, Timothy

Timothy Lubin
Jessie Ball duPont Professor of Religion and Adjunct Professor of Law
On research leave until January 2022
Tucker 204
540.458.8146
lubint@wlu.edu

History of religion and law of South and Southeast Asia, working on texts and inscriptions in Sanskrit, Prakrit, Old Javanese, and Old Tamil; National Endowment for the Humanities fellow and American Council of Learned Societies fellow, 2020-2021

Mayock, Ellen

Ellen Mayock
Ernest Williams II Professor of Spanish
Tucker Hall, Room 305
540.458.8816
mayocke@wlu.edu

The Novel in Spain and Latin America; Literary Naturalism: Women Writers of Spain, Latin America, and the U.S.; Feminist Theory; Immigrant Populations in the U.S.

Emeritus Faculty

Craun, Edwin

Edwin Craun
Professor of English Emeritus
craune@wlu.edu