Southeastern Composers League Forum 2017

Friday, March 24, 2017 and Saturday, March 25, 2017

Five Concerts:

Friday, March 24, 2017 - 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

Saturday, March 25, 2017 - 3 p.m., 5 p.m. and 8 p.m.

No tickets are required.

Wilson Hall/Concert Hall

Twenty-nine composers from around the Southeastern United States will spend two days in Lexington, presenting their original works in a series of concerts. SonoKlect, WLU's new music series, will host the Southeastern Composers League 2017 Forum this spring. Local audiences will have the rare opportunity to attend five concerts of new music.

Each concert is approximately one-hour long, and each composer will be in attendance, for questions and/or answers. Concerts are at 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. on Friday, March 24, and at 3 p.m., 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. on Saturday, March 25. All concerts are in Wilson Hall and are free and open to the public. Following the final concert on Saturday night, there will be a reception, allowing the audience, performers, and composers to mingle over tasty treats.

The Southeastern Composers League is a collective of composers from all over the southeastern US, one of the oldest organizations of its kind in the country. Each year, members gather on a southern campus for a Forum, to discuss the art and craft of making music, to catch up on the past year’s events, and, primarily, to hear each other’s music performed.

A wide range of musical styles and genres will be represented. Many of the performers come from the Washington and Lee Music Department. The University Wind Ensemble and vocal groups, Cantatrici and the Men’s Glee Club, will appear alongside soloists and chamber ensembles. Special guests, from Hillsdale College are soprano Kristi Matson, clarinetist Andrew Sprung, percussionist Stacey Jones-Garrison, and pianist Brad Blackham. Additional performers from WLU include Gregory Parker, Shuko Watanabe, Julia Goudimova, Jamie McArdle, Anna Billias and Ting-Ting Yen.

The League is comprised of composers from Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia. Learn more at: