Marlbrook Chamber Players The American Spirit

Marlbrook Chamber Players present music of America highlighting Café Music by Paul Schoenfield. This vaudevillian piano trio is thought to be inspired by the time Schoenfield spent playing dinner music at a steak house in Minneapolis, and he says of the piece, "My intention was to write a kind of high-class dinner music-music which could be played at a restaurant, but might also (just barely) find its way into a concert hall." The work is playful and fun with inventive melodies and infectious energy-a work that feels familiar somehow, even when heard the first time. The works chosen feature American composers who used the musical language and sound of the new world in their compositions. Enjoy the influence of jazz, the landscapes of the Appalachians and the dance halls of the Northwest in these seldom performed works; check the website for more information. The program is free and open to the public.

The Marlbrook Chamber Players feature Jaime Letourneau, violin; Tim Gaylard, piano; Julia Goudimova, cello; Paula Zimmerman, violin; Cynthia Penne, viola; and Gregory Parker, baritone. Evening works include Paul Schoenfield, “Café Music for Piano Trio” (1986); Elliot Carter, “Three Poems of Robert Frost”; George Gershwin Impromptu in Two Keys (1929) “Jazzbo Brown Blues” from Porgy and Bess (1935) and Mark O’Connor, “String Quartet No. 1.” Three Masters not to miss!


George Gershwin (1898 - 1937)

Tim Gaylard, piano

Paul Schoenfield b. 1947: Cafe Music for Piano Trio (1986)


Andante Moderato


Jaime Letourneau, violin

Julia Goudimova, cello

Tim Gaylard, piano

Elliot Carter (1908 - 2012): Three Poems of Robert Frost (1975)

Dust of Snow

The Rose Family

The Line Gang

Dr. Gregory Parker, baritone

Tim Gaylard, piano

Mark O'Connor (b. 1961): String Quartet No. 1 (1990)

I Fast and Cheerful

II Slow, tempo rubato

III Slow, tranquil

IV Fast

Jaime Letourneau, violin

Paula Zimmerman, violin

Cynthia Penne, viola

Julia Goudimova, cello