Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Michelmore, Molly

Molly Michelmore
Professor of History, Department Head
Newcomb Hall 103
540.458.8779
michelmorem@wlu.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. Political, Cultural and Social

Faculty

Atanasova, Kameliya N.

Kameliya N. Atanasova
Assistant Professor of Religion
Tucker 207
540.458.8797
atanasovak@wlu.edu

Ballah, Henryatta

Henryatta Ballah
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 218
540.458.8456
hballah@wlu.edu

Nineteenth and Twentieth-century Africa, the Atlantic World, Civil Wars, Youth and Social Movements, and Women's History

Bello, David

David A. Bello
Elizabeth Lewis Otey, Professor of East Asian Studies, Director of East Asian Studies
Newcomb Hall 206
540.458.8770
bellod@wlu.edu

China and Japan

Bidlack, Richard

Richard Bidlack
Martin and Brooke Stein Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 211
540.458.8912
bidlackr@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Russia, Caucasus, and Central Asia

Brett, Mia

Mia Brett
Visiting Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 221
540-458-8963
mbrett@wlu.edu

Brock, Michelle D.

Michelle D. Brock
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb 316
540.458-8780
brockm@wlu.edu

The Age of the Witch-hunts, history of Medieval, early modern, and modern Britain, Scottish history, the British Reformations

Dennie, Nneka

Nneka Dennie
Assistant Professor of History
Nneka is on sabbatical during the 22-23 school year.
Newcomb 221
540.458.8963
ndennie@wlu.edu

African American history, Black feminism, Women's history, Caribbean history

Green, Romina

Romina Green
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 205
(540) 458-8094
rgreen@wlu.edu

Horowitz, Sarah

Sarah Horowitz
Professor of History
horowitzs@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, France, Women in Europe

Meehan, Patrick

Patrick Meehan
Visiting Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 312
540-458-4849
pmeehan@wlu.edu

Myers, Barton A.

Barton A. Myers
Professor of History
Barton is on sabbatical during the 22-23 school year.
Newcomb Hall 232
540.458.8776
myersb@wlu.edu

American Civil War, War and Society, U.S. South, Public History

Patch, William

William Patch
Kenan Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 219
540.263.2005
patchw@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Germany, International Relations

Rupke, Nicolaas A.

Nicolaas A. Rupke
Johnson Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 203
540.458.8344
rupken@wlu.edu

History of Science

Sammons, Franklin

Franklin Sammons
Visiting Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 223
540.458.8772
fsammons@wlu.edu

Vise, Melissa

Melissa Vise
Assistant Professor of History, Head of the Italian Studies Faculty Cohort
Newcomb Hall 314
540.458.8249
mvise@wlu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Bell, Alison

Alison Bell
Professor of Anthropology
Newcomb Hall 309
540.458.8638
bella@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Professor of Sociology and Department Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology
Newcomb Hall 104
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Lamar Cecil
William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of History, Emeritus
Lynchburg, VA
lamarcecil@comcast.net

Roger B. Jeans
Elizabeth Lewis Otey Professor of History, Emeritus
jeansr@wlu.edu

Barry Machado
Professor of History, Emeritus
Lake Geneva, WI
machadob@wlu.edu

J. Holt Merchant
Professor of History, Emeritus
merchanth@wlu.edu

David Parker
Associate Professor of History, Emeritus
Lexington, VA
ashworthj@wlu.edu (for messages)

Peterson, David

David Peterson
Professor of History, Emeritus
petersond@wlu.edu

Medieval, Renaissance, and Reformation Europe

Henry P. Porter, Jr.
Professor of History, Emeritus
porterh@wlu.edu

I. Taylor Sanders
Professor of History, Emeritus
17taylorbabs@embarqmail.com

Senechal, Roberta

Roberta Senechal
Professor of History, Emeritus
senechalr@wlu.edu

U.S. Social History, Violence, Women in America

Administrative Assistant

Sapp, Cassady

Cassady Sapp
Academic Administrative Assistant II
Newcomb Hall 105
540-458-8771
csapp@wlu.edu