Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Michelmore, Molly

Molly Michelmore
Professor of History, Department Head
Newcomb Hall 103
540.458.8779
michelmorem@wlu.edu

Twentieth Century U.S. Political, Cultural and Social

Faculty

Atanasova, Kameliya N.

Kameliya N. Atanasova
Assistant Professor of Religion
On sabbatical 2020-2021
Tucker 207
540.458.8797
atanasovak@wlu.edu

Ballah, Henryatta

Henryatta Ballah
Assistant Professor of History
Newcomb 218
540.458.8456
hballah@wlu.edu

Nineteenth and Twentieth-century Africa, the Atlantic World, Civil Wars, Youth and Social Movements, and Women's History

Bello, David

David Bello
Professor of History, Director of East Asian Studies
Newcomb Hall 206
540.458.8770
bellod@wlu.edu

China and Japan

Bidlack, Richard

Richard Bidlack
Martin and Brooke Stein Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 211
540.458.8912
bidlackr@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Russia, Caucasus, and Central Asia

Brock, Michelle D.

Michelle D. Brock
Associate Professor of History
Newcomb 316
brockm@wlu.edu

The Age of the Witch-hunts, history of Medieval, early modern, and modern Britain, Scottish history, the British Reformations

Horowitz, Sarah

Sarah Horowitz
Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 306
540.458.8773
horowitzs@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, France, Women in Europe

Myers, Barton A.

Barton A. Myers
Class of 1960 Professor of Ethics and History and Associate Professor of Civil War History
Newcomb Hall 232
540.458.8776
myersb@wlu.edu

American Civil War, War and Society, U.S. South, Public History

Patch, William

William Patch
Kenan Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 219
540.263.2005
patchw@wlu.edu

Modern Europe, Germany, International Relations

Rupke, Nicolaas A.

Nicolaas A. Rupke
Johnson Professor of History
Newcomb Hall 203
540.458.8344
rupken@wlu.edu

History of Science

Vise, Melissa

Melissa Vise
Assistant Professor of History, Head of the Italian Studies Faculty Cohort
Newcomb Hall 314
540.458.8249
mvise@wlu.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Bell, Alison

Alison Bell
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Newcomb Hall 309
540.458.8638
bella@wlu.edu

Eastwood, Jonathan

Jonathan Eastwood
Professor of Sociology and Department Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology
Newcomb Hall 104
540.458.8777
eastwoodj@wlu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Lamar Cecil
William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of History Emeritus
Lynchburg, VA
lamarcecil@comcast.net

DeLaney, Ted

Ted DeLaney
Professor of History Emeritus
Newcomb Hall 103
540.458.8963
delaneyt@wlu.edu

Colonial North America, Comparative Slavery, African American, Civil Rights, Gay and Lesbian

Roger B. Jeans
Elizabeth Lewis Otey Professor of History Emeritus
jeansr@wlu.edu

Barry Machado
Professor of History Emeritus
Lake Geneva, WI
machadob@wlu.edu

J. Holt Merchant
Professor of History, Emeritus
merchanth@wlu.edu

David Parker
Associate Professor of History Emeritus
Lexington, VA
ashworthj@wlu.edu (for messages)

Peterson, David

David Peterson
Professor of History
On Sabbatical 2017-2018
Newcomb Hall 205
540.458.8094
petersond@wlu.edu

Medieval, Renaissance, and Reformation Europe

Henry P. Porter, Jr.
Professor of History Emeritus
porterh@wlu.edu

Senechal, Roberta

Roberta Senechal
Professor of History, Emeritus
Newcomb Hall 232
540.458.8456
senechalr@wlu.edu

U.S. Social History, Violence, Women in America

Administrative Assistant

Hemphill, Kara

Kara Hemphill
Administrative Assistant
Newcomb 105
540.458.8771
hemphillk@wlu.edu