Awards and Scholarships

Departmental Award
Given to promising students considering or entering geology.

Lena T. Stevens Scholarship
The Lena T. Stevens Scholarship in Geology was established in 1956 by an alumnus in recognition of Mrs. Stevens' interest in and aid to geological education. It is awarded annually upon the recommendation of the head of the Department of Geology to a junior or senior who is majoring in geology.

Marcellus H. Stow Award
The Marcellus Henry Stow Award in Geology. M.H. Stow taught geology at Washington and Lee from 1926 to 1957. He was head of the department and an internationally known sedimentologist. During the second World War, he was director of the mining division of the War Production Board. This award was established by his former students. The award is made to an outstanding geology major on the recommendation of the head of the department.

R. Preston Hawkins IV Geology Award
The Hawkins Award was established in 2008 by family, friends, and colleagues of Preston Hawkins and is a permanently endowed fund at Washington and Lee University providing financial assistance to a geology student conducting a field research project or working as a field assistant to a faculty member. The award memorializes Preston Hawkins '91.  He loved geology field work as a student and spent his career as a field geologist.

Samuel J. Kozak-Odell S. McGuire-Edgar W. Spencer-Frederick L. Schwab Award
The Kozak, Spencer, McGuire, Schwab Award is funded by the Samuel Kozak, Edgar Spencer, Odell McGuire, and Frederick Schwab Endowed Geology Fund. The fund was created to honor the memory of Dr. Kozak as well as the careers of Drs. Spencer, McGuire, and Schwab. It was established in October 2001 to fund lab work and analysis, and to support geology student travel to professional meetings, to prepare publications, and to present the results of their research to the technical community.

Edgar W. Spencer '53 Geology Field Research Fund
The Edgar W. Spencer '53 Geology Field Research Fund was established in 2018 by Quinn T. Kiley '95 to provide support for student field research under the supervision of W&L geology professors. The Fund was created to honor Dr. Spencer, an alum and long-time faculty member and chair of the Geology Department, and to recognize the transformative experience Washington and Lee University provided Mr. Kiley during his time as an undergraduate majoring in geology.

Frank G. Young Award
The Frank G. Young Award in Geology was established by the geology department in 1989 in honor of Frank G. Young, a former student and trustee of the University. The award is made to geology majors in recognition of exceptional excellence in academic performance in geology courses. This award is not granted every year.