Harte Center Advisory Board

The Harte Center Advisory Board will advise the provost and will assist and advise the Center's director in his two-fold mission to support both faculty and student development through programming focused on teaching and learning in all forms. The Harte Advisory Board helps the director ensure that the Center functions in a manner that recognizes the needs of Washington and Lee's students, faculty, and staff, with particular emphasis on the collaborative and innovative spirit of the liberal arts. The advisory board is chaired by the Harte director.

Members will be appointed by the provost and will include the Director of Harte, the Director of Academic Technologies, the Director of Student Career and Professional Advising, the Associate Director of Assessment, the Director of the Writing and Communication Center, two members from the Student Affairs staff recommended by the Vice President for Student Affairs, one member from Leyburn Library, and one member from the Community-Based Learning program.

Leslie Wingard Cunningham, Chair (Interim Director of the Harte Center)

Ex officio Members
Ronda Bryant, Student Affairs - 2022-2025
Julie Knudson, Academic Technologies
Fran Elrod, Shepherd/Community-Based Learning representative, 2022-2025
Bill Oliver, Director of the Writing and Communication Center
Molly Steele, Director of Student Career and Professional Advising
Elizabeth Teaff 2021-2024
Tammy Futrell 2021-2024

Eight Faculty Members appointed by the Provost to three-year terms
Mark Coddington, Associate Professor of Journalism, 2021-2024
Margaret Anne Hinkle, Assistant Professor of Geology, 2021-2024
Sarah Horowitz, Professor of History -2021-2024
Karla Murdoch Professor of Cognitive Biology and Science, 2021-2024
Kyle Friend, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry - 2022-2025
Pooja Thakur-Wenz, Assistant Professor of Business Administration - 2022-2025

Two students, nominated by the EC and approved by the VPSA/Dean of Students (one-year terms):
Cassie Robinson '23 - 2021-2023
Lauryn McCray '22 - 2019-2022