Peer Counseling

Need a listening ear? The Peer Counseling Program is a team of student volunteers dedicated to helping other students experiencing any kind of emotional problems. Recognizing that students often feel most comfortable talking with friends about life issues, the Peer Counselors receive extensive training on how to help other students. They are not therapists, but act as friends who are knowledgeable about the kinds of emotional issues affecting students and campus resources.

These caring and committed campus leaders go through a week-long training in the early fall and then participate in an ongoing monthly training program throughout the year. They learn about depression, anxiety, eating issues, grief, relationship issues, alcohol and substance problems, academic problems, and trauma. They learn how to listen without judging, and keep all contacts confidential (except for situations where there a student is at risk of harm, when they get consultation from the University Counselor on-call).

Peer Counselors team up with RAs on each hall to help first-year students make a successful adjustment to W&L, but are also available to upper class students. The PCs want to be there for you whether your issue is large or small; if you are a W&L student experiencing any kind of life difficulty and want support from a peer you can contact any of the PCs any time, either by email from the list below or by phone using the numbers on the Peer Counseling posters around campus.

Kirk Luder
kluder@wlu.edu

Staff Advisor

ImageCounselorEmailTitle
Jonathan Tucker tuckerj21@mail.wlu.edu Head PC
Dolph Maxwell maxwelld22@mail.wlu.edu Assistant Head PC
Alankrit Shatadal shatadala21@mail.wlu.edu Diversity PC Coordinator
Troy Larsen larsent22@mail.wlu.edu Treasurer
Clara Albacete albacetec23@mail.wlu.edu
Liam Ballou balloul23@mail.wlu.edu
Camilla Beeley beeleyc22@mail.wlu.edu
Jowita Chotkiewicz chotkiewicz23@mail.wlu.edu
Sarah Concepcion concepcions21@mail.wlu.edu
Alex David davida21@mail.wlu.edu
Peter Davin davinp23@mail.wlu.edu
Sean Doherty dohertys23@mail.wlu.edu
Luke Edwards edwardsl22@mail.wlu.edu
Kate Fisher fisherk23@mail.wlu.edu
Julia Foxen foxenj21@mail.wlu.edu
Graciela Gaviria gaviriag23@mail.wlu.edu
Eric Gazin gazine23@mail.wlu.edu
Alice Gooding goodinga21@mail.wlu.edu
Fady Gouda goudaf21@mail.wlu.edu
Meg Graham grahamm23@mail.wlu.edu
Mary Wilson Grist gristmw22@mail.wlu.edu
Grace Anne Holladay holladayg21@mail.wlu.edu
Paradis Ikirezi ikirezip23@mail.wlu.edu
Cabrey Keller kellerc21@mail.wlu.edu
Boots Lackey lackeyb23@mail.wlu.edu
Jamal Magoti magotij23@mail.wlu.edu
Josh McDonald mcdonaldj22@mail.wlu.edu
Anna Miller millerab21@mail.wlu.edu
Jackson Monroe monroej21@mail.wlu.edu
Emily Moran morane21@mail.wlu.edu
Bryson Parker parkerb23@mail.wlu.edu
Ella Powers powerse22@mail.wlu.edu
Hannah Puckett pucketth23@mail.wlu.edu
Simona Radeva radevas23@mail.wlu.edu
Hannah Reed reedh21@mail.wlu.edu
Mary Alice Russell russellm22@mail.wlu.edu
Isabel Ryan ryani21@mail.wlu.edu
Eli Samson samsone23@mail.wlu.edu
Allie Stankewich stankewicha23@mail.wlu.edu
Annie Talton taltona21@mail.wlu.edu
Tina Taylor taylort22@mail.wlu.edu
Ellie Thornton thorntone23@mail.wlu.edu
Harrison Travis travish21@mail.wlu.edu
Taylor Tucker tuckert23@mail.wlu.edu
J. C. Ward wardj23@mail.wlu.edu
Steve Warren warrens22@mail.wlu.edu
Christopher Watt wattc21@mail.wlu.edu