Peer Counseling

Need a listening ear? The Peer Counseling Program is a team of student volunteers dedicated to helping other students experiencing any kind of emotional problems. Recognizing that students often feel most comfortable talking with friends about life issues, the Peer Counselors receive extensive training on how to help other students. They are not therapists, but act as friends who are knowledgeable about the kinds of emotional issues affecting students and campus resources.

These caring and committed campus leaders go through a week-long training in the early fall and then participate in an ongoing monthly training program throughout the year. They learn about depression, anxiety, eating issues, grief, relationship issues, alcohol and substance problems, academic problems, and trauma. They learn how to listen without judging, and keep all contacts confidential (except for situations where there a student is at risk of harm, when they get consultation from the University Counselor on-call).

Peer Counselors team up with RAs on each hall to help first-year students make a successful adjustment to W&L, but are also available to upper class students. The PCs want to be there for you whether your issue is large or small; if you are a W&L student experiencing any kind of life difficulty and want support from a peer you can contact any of the PCs any time, either by email from the list below or by phone using the numbers on the Peer Counseling posters around campus.

Jeff Rutter
jrutter@wlu.edu
540-458-8590

Staff Advisor

ImageCounselorEmail/PhoneTitle
Hannah Puckett pucketth23@mail.wlu.edu
757-707-4288
Head PC
Cole Gershkovich gershkovichc24@mail.wlu.edu
615-856-6655
Assistant Head PC
Clara Albacete albacetec23@mail.wlu.edu
412-609-2026
Head Diversity PC
Cat Hudson hudsonc24@mail.wlu.edu
304-488-0675
Head LGBTQ+ PC
Liam Ballou balloul23@mail.wlu.edu
347-255-0401
Ben Bankston bankstonb25@mail.wlu.edu
434-363-2796
Will Burrow burroww24@mail.wlu.edu
407-361-6661
Louisa Bynum bynuml24@mail.wlu.edu
704-763-4387
Guangpu Chen cheng23@mail.wlu.edu
540-712-1440
Jowita Chotkiewicz chotkiewiczj23@mail.wlu.edu
202-384-5674
Parker Comisac comisacp24@mail.wlu.edu
256-452-5223
Finn Connor connorv23@mail.wlu.edu
267-393-2900
Peter Davin davinp23@mail.wlu.edu
301-938-1937
Alina De Zoysa dezoysaa25@mail.wlu.edu
732-336-9976
Mariam Drammeh drammehm25@mail.wlu.edu
678-499-9415
Kate Fisher fisherk23@mail.wlu.edu
832-914-7212
Graciela Gaviria gaviriag23@mail.wlu.edu
540-466-6348
Meg Graham grahamm23@mail.wlu.edu
443-718-1452
Natalie Gresham greshamn24@mail.wlu.edu
678-736-0416
Paradis Ikirezi ikirezip23@mail.wlu.edu
469-369-6344
Libby Kerr kerrl24@mail.wlu.edu
205-777-9693
Lydie Kipawa buradil25@mail.wlu.edu
540-427-8018
Boots Lackey lackeyb23@mail.wlu.edu
703-380-8407
Meg Langhorne langhornem23@mail.wlu.edu
850-607-1045
Kate Lardner lardnerk24@mail.wlu.edu
415-259-9986
Kit Lombard lombardk23@mail.wlu.edu
443-903-6192
Mynor Lopez lopezm24@mail.wlu.edu
347-344-1413
Thomas McRae mcraet25@mail.wlu.edu<
615-278-8822/td>
Michael Mercer mercerm24@mail.wlu.edu
443-685-4419
Lily Miggins migginsl24@mail.wlu.edu
210-585-1295
Andrew Morse morsea24@mail.wlu.edu
203-962-6528
Charlene Nsengimana nsengimanac24@mail.wlu.edu
540-466-2697
Whit Nuckolls nuckollsw25@mail.wlu.edu
252-671-1302
Bridget Osas osasb25@mail.wlu.edu
469-264-4269
Syd Peppe peppes25@mail.wlu.edu
703-431-6332
Pinto pintoc24@mail.wlu.edu
980-677-2690
Jason Raymond raymondj25@mail.wlu.edu
540-903-8963
Payson Richardson richardsonp23@mail.wlu.edu
413-387-8650
Eli Samson samsone23@mail.wlu.edu
832-748-1437
Renan Silva silvar24@mail.wlu.edu
240-478-3918
Kiera Stankewich stankewichk25@mail.wlu.edu
475-355-5228
Charlie Thigpen thigpenc24@mail.wlu.edu
980-333-9202
Annie Thomas thomasa24@mail.wlu.edu
601-278-4649
Taylor Tucker tuckert23@mail.wlu.edu
804-955-0762
Tiwaniya Tyler tylert24@mail.wlu.edu
662-347-9170
Grace Vest vestg24@mail.wlu.edu
570-528-8508
Trip Wright wrightt25@mail.wlu.edu
615-720-9939
Lydia Yang yangl25@mail.wlu.edu
973-519-1899