COVID-19 Committee

President Dudley accepted the recommendation from the COVID-19 Contingency Task Force Report that identified the establishment of a COVID-19 Committee to assist the university in decision-making related to operation of the university through the balance of the pandemic. The committee's charge is as follows:

"The COVID-19 Committee will serve the University until the pandemic subsides. This committee is tasked with implementing the recommendations in the COVID-19 Contingency Task Force Report, and continuing to monitor the situation while identifying/managing issues that emerge in the months ahead. In addition, the committee will provide guidance on when restrictions that may be necessary at the outset of a return to campus can be eased. The committee includes members from the existing Task Force combined with policymakers and those most familiar with day-to-day operations in key areas. In addition, a number of the Special Topic Working Groups will continue their work to help resolve questions remaining and address issues as guidance becomes more prevalent. These working groups include: Athletics, Classrooms and Teaching Spaces, Academic Technologies and Virtual Instruction, Testing and Contact Tracing, Events and Visitors, Opening of School, and Greek Life. In addition, there may need to be additional work completed by the Finance and Employment and Admissions and Enrollment working groups as the summer unfolds and with it greater clarity on what the fall environment looks like. The COVID-19 Committee will look to these working groups to provide needed guidance and information as the University works through the pandemic."

COVID-19 Committee Members

  • Paul Youngman, Associate Provost (chair of the committee)
  • Scott Eversole, IT Project Management and Communications Specialist
  • Elisabeth Gilbert, Assistant Professor of Business Administration
  • Bill Hamilton, Professor of Biology
  • Jan Hathorn, Director of Athletics
  • Jane Horton, University Physician and Director of Student Health
  • John Jensen, Dean of Career and Professional Development
  • Tom Kalasky, Executive Director of University Facilities
  • Ethan Kipnes, Director of Public Safety
  • Dave Leonard, Dean of Student Life
  • Mary Main, Executive Director of Human Resources
  • Trenya Mason, Assistant Dean, Law Student Affairs
  • Sally Richmond, Vice President for Admissions and Financial Aid
  • Kim Robinson, University Registrar
  • Drewry Sackett, Executive Director of Communications and Public Affairs
  • K.C. Schaefer, Executive Director of Auxiliary Services
  • Elizabeth Teaff, Associate Professor and Head of Access Services, University Library